Best and Worst Week 11

This week I have felt inspired, somewhat starstruck, and empowered as well as agitated, anxious, and dreadful.

Best – When I got the email that I was chosen to volunteer at the Texas Women’s Conference I extremely excited. I knew that Amal Clooney would be speaking. When I got to the event Tuesday morning I automatically asked if I could have the lunch shift to be able to hear all the amazing speakers. When my shift before lunch was running over I had to think fast to be able to not miss anything. I got someone to cover my shift and ran to the lunch room getting there just in time for Amal. While she was speaking I felt starstruck. When I saw her I couldn’t more nor believe that it was actually her. After hearing her and all the other speakers I felt inspired to reach the goals that I have. As I passed the speakers room she happened to come out with all her body guards. Again, feeling starstruck I was stuck in place for a few seconds. Then I gained the courage to go up and speak to her. It was a conversation that was cut short by the fact that she had to leave. I did not get a picture with her and feel very regretful because of this. After this out of body experience I had had to help in a session titled “How to Lead When You are Not the Leader in the Room.” After hearing all the women’s stories of the workplace, how they over came, and how they plan to do better I felt empowered. Being able to attend the conference to a certain extend was a privilege.

img_9307

 

and Worst – I love the holiday season. They make me feel happy and upbeat. However, for some reason my family always seems to quarrel during this time. This fact makes me feel agitated because I wish that I could simply enjoy this time of the year. This makes me feel anxious and dreadful for the coming weeks and month. I do not know what they will bring but I can only hope that this year will be better than years past. I know that my family is like me, they want to enjoy the holidays. I do not want to feel these feeling at this time of the year and am not sure what I can do to stop them.

img_9283

Leave a comment