11-13 for 11-17 Costello 3

1.”‘Dysfunctional’ families are the reverse of ‘optimal’ families. ‘Children growing up in these families are at risk for significant psychopathology'” (1041).

Many counselors, therapists, and phycologists all have their ideas of what a family is – and what a ‘messed up’ family is. Honestly, I believe that everyone’s family is a little ‘messed up.’ That’s how life is. In elementary school, I used to be jealous of my friend’s family whenever I went to sleep over. I would see her parents smile at each other, I would see her dog play with her little sisters, and I would see they talk to each other so amicably. I longed to stay with them. It was many years later that I found out her mother was an alcoholic and her father had many affairs. The show they put on captivated me, someone who came from a family that wasn’t average. Once my friend’s and I grew up and began sharing more with each other as adults I found out many things that they trusted telling me. Then, I realized that my family seemed average when looking from the outside, just as my friend’s did. We don’t know what a family is like unless we are part of it. I  try to resent the stereotypical titles and people that are thought to be in a family (like my first picture titled, My Family? Your Family?). However, I do see similarities. Those therapists and psychologists really got it spot on. They also know that many children who grow up in these dysfunctional families need help later in life, as to cope with what they went through as a child. 2.”Sooner or later, family systems therapy focuses on one’s deep feelings of abandonment, of the ultimate alienation, of being an orphan in the world” (1043). In these sessions one can think that they are alone in the world because of the trauma they grew up with. And one can almost alway expect what to be told in therapy sessions about their family. Most parents are blamed for the outcome of the child and for the family environment they grew up in. 3.”In one pattern of the ‘dysfunctional’ family there is a ‘chronic, unreasonable parental conflict. The parents appear to be at war'” (1041). And sometimes, it is the parent’s fault. They do create the environment of the household. Other times it could be another person in the family of someone not even related to the person. In the family there are thought to be roles that a certain person can fill. As much as I tried to resent these roles I now see just how correct these roles are and how much research had to go into finding them. dysfunctional-family

4.”Do not expect me to be your slave, I have a thirst for freedom” (1237). 

I’m allergic to cats. However, I feel that if I wasn’t I’d have wanted one instead of a dog. My dog (look there I go again, talking about my dog) was terrible when my family first got him. Now that he is trained he acts like a cat in a dogs body. I find this to be the best fit for me. He lays around all day and acts superior. He honestly thinks he is a human. When I was reading these stories and poems I thought of my dog. But for the sake of the blog I will write about cats, even though I’ve never interacted with one.

Most domestic pets are loyal to their owners. 5.“Do not, I beg, abandon me, I have a sure fidelity” (1237). Most owners cannot imagine abandoning their pets. They are a part of their family. They mostly fit into the mascot role (as seen in My Family? You Family?). I am aware that cats are the pets that are notorious for acting superior and entitled. They are not the family slaves. We cannot be sure if they want to be free, because…well, they can’t talk. But, we can assume that sometimes they wish they were free to do and take as they please. 6.”What are you eating? Give me some!” (1245). This is classic of the domestic pet. They try to take what is the humans, because they believe it should be theirs. This begs the question: do our pets really care about us? I believe they do. But, when I see a pet only coming to the owner when they want something it makes me think differently. 7.”Don’t imagine that I am at all interested in you” (1245). This quote actually hurts as an owner of a domestic pet. I like to think that my family is my dog’s family and vice versa. Hopefully, this just pertains to cats – and thankfully, I won’t go through this rejection. cat_c97149f2-5629-11e5-a8da-005056b4648e

[Caption: 8.“Young she-gods of fur and silk” (1248).]

Leave a comment